Fails to Launch: Issues

Here you can discuss Shelim's mod for Drakan which celebrates 10 years of the game and adds new features and fixes some bugs. Please post support questions here ONLY if you are using this mod.

Moderators: Arokhs Twin, mage150

AXE
Dragon
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2001 9:31 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby AXE » Tue Oct 02, 2012 12:27 am

Well I was looking forward to testing the affects of this mod, but sadly it wont run on my 2 machines that are different from each other!

#1 pc: Win 7, Quad core AMD at 3.0, 4 Gb ram, ATI 5570

After trying many types of settings, I feel its the video card.

#2 pc: Win XP, Dual Core at 2.8, 2GB ram, ATI X700

Video card must be the issue.


Download was Great!
Installed Great!
Ran first time, XP machine wanted DirectX so installed it- then ran
Made my ID files OK
I used many different variations of settings but it crash,
- XP machine crash to desktop; no message
- Win 7 machine, could hear startup towards the menu, but no image, occasional flicker of white light. then freeze


I have created this topic for others to come too, and post thier problems, and/or fixes 8)

User avatar
Arokhs Twin
Site Admin
Posts: 1062
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2001 9:36 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Arokhs Twin » Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:59 pm

Sorry to day but I am unable to get it working. I did the same steps as Axe did but just get a black screen when launching the game - unable to quit it even with ctrl-alt-delete and task manager. Had to log off and back on to get the game to quit.

If I disable the shaders I can get the game to run but starting a new game makes it crash straight away. Tried all the settings to no avail.

System specs: Windows 7 64 bit on AMD Phenom X4 965BE @3.4Ghz, 8GB RAM and AMD 4870HD 1GB graphics card.

Maybe its AMD systems?
By fire and by blood I join with thee in the Order of the Flame!
Webmaster of Arokh's Lair

GoldenGate023
Hatchling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 5:47 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby GoldenGate023 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:22 pm

It's not the AMD's fault :)
I have a six core AMD bulldozer+8 gig of ram+nVidia gt630 and win 7 X64
It works pretty good :)
Also I have the original game if its worth something :)
And I cant see the dragon's body if dump mapping is enbled at the Riot Engine optons.
Listen here! You, wretched reptile...

User avatar
Arokhs Twin
Site Admin
Posts: 1062
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2001 9:36 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Arokhs Twin » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:14 pm

You have an Nvidia graphics card though.
By fire and by blood I join with thee in the Order of the Flame!
Webmaster of Arokh's Lair

User avatar
Shelim
Dragon
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Shelim » Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:56 pm

Okay, this seems to be pretty popular problem which is very strange (I tested on 3 different PCs and everything worked fine) - I am now installing WinXP on Virtual Machine, I'll try to reproduce this out there.

Is there anything in log (Drakan/Mod10th/Drakan10th.log, open via notepad)?
Do not follow where the path may lead - go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

Danger? Hah! I walk on the wild side! I laugh in the face of danger! Ha! Ha! Ha!

User avatar
Arokhs Twin
Site Admin
Posts: 1062
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2001 9:36 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Arokhs Twin » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:01 pm

Emailled you my log file. Tried it again, game loads but starting a new game displays a few white triangles on a black background then crash to desktop with engine stopped working error.

I also included the crash log from the windows event log.
By fire and by blood I join with thee in the Order of the Flame!
Webmaster of Arokh's Lair

User avatar
Shelim
Dragon
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Shelim » Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:52 pm

It seems that I've just found and confirmed bug in core ATI driver (not the first, have I mentioned that? ;) ) I've borrowed computer from a friend with ATI card - expected exactly the same thing as all of you. More weird is every time I try to attach debugger, I got BSoD pointing to ati3duag.dll...

Anyways, I am tracking problem (via so-called printf debugging :D), the solution (workaround) should be available shortly :)
Do not follow where the path may lead - go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

Danger? Hah! I walk on the wild side! I laugh in the face of danger! Ha! Ha! Ha!

User avatar
Shelim
Dragon
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Shelim » Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:34 pm

ATI Crash-to-desktop issues are solved!

Launcher should propose auto-update to fixed version. If you find any other bugs, don't hesitate to contact me :)
Do not follow where the path may lead - go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

Danger? Hah! I walk on the wild side! I laugh in the face of danger! Ha! Ha! Ha!

User avatar
Arokhs Twin
Site Admin
Posts: 1062
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2001 9:36 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Arokhs Twin » Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:39 pm

Thanks, that's great news! Ill give it a try tomorrow and let you know.
By fire and by blood I join with thee in the Order of the Flame!
Webmaster of Arokh's Lair

AXE
Dragon
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2001 9:31 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby AXE » Sat Oct 13, 2012 6:59 pm

Awesome! Will try Sunday, gota wedding to party at today. 8)

User avatar
Arokhs Twin
Site Admin
Posts: 1062
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2001 9:36 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Arokhs Twin » Sat Oct 13, 2012 9:13 pm

Managed to try it and it is working fine - thanks for the hard work. I will finish The Ancient's Gates then I think Ill play through Drakan OOTF again.
By fire and by blood I join with thee in the Order of the Flame!
Webmaster of Arokh's Lair

AXE
Dragon
Posts: 303
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2001 9:31 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby AXE » Mon Oct 22, 2012 5:50 pm

ATI video card issue seems to be fixed with the update. Excellent work! I have played through for 2 to 3 days now with no glitch's even.:)

User avatar
Shelim
Dragon
Posts: 189
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby Shelim » Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:31 pm

To be honest - reason behind that ATI crash was very unlucky typo on my part (and it passed nVidia and static checks without warnings!) ;) Everything should be fine now :)
Do not follow where the path may lead - go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

Danger? Hah! I walk on the wild side! I laugh in the face of danger! Ha! Ha! Ha!

donkeymilk
Whelp
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: Fails to Launch: Issues

Postby donkeymilk » Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:27 pm

updated to fixed version.
once I press Launch Drakan nothing happens
win xp
AMD5450 CARD,with driver '13-1-legacy_xp32_dd_ccc_whql'
log:
> Injecting non-classic DDraw module...
in "MyDirectDrawCreate()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_Creators.cpp" on line 9

> Requesting lpDD->QueryInterface() [recognized call for IID_IDirectDraw4]
in "myIDirectDraw::QueryInterface()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_QI.cpp" on line 12

> Injecting non-classic DDraw4 module...
in "myIDirectDraw::QueryInterface()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_QI.cpp" on line 13

> Injecting non-classic device caps enumerator...
in "myIDirectDraw4::GetCaps()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_Prebuffs.cpp" on line 50

> Requesting lpDD4->QueryInterface() [recognized call for IID_IDirect3D3]
in "myIDirectDraw4::QueryInterface()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_QI.cpp" on line 33

> Injecting non-classic D3D3 module...
in "myIDirectDraw4::QueryInterface()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_QI.cpp" on line 34

> Injecting non-classic d3d devices enumerator...
in "myIDirect3D3::EnumDevices()" file: "Hooked_D3D3_Prebuffs.cpp" on line 10

> Injecting non-classic d3d ZBuffer formats enumerator...
in "myIDirect3D3::EnumZBufferFormats()" file: "Hooked_D3D3_Prebuffs.cpp" on line 64

> Injecting non-classic display modes enumerator...
in "myIDirectDraw4::EnumDisplayModes()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_Prebuffs.cpp" on line 9

> Injecting non-classic device id...
in "myIDirectDraw4::GetDeviceIdentifier()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_Prebuffs.cpp" on line 92

> Releasing D3D interface...
in "myIDirect3D3::Release()" file: "Hooked_D3D3_Overrides.cpp" on line 10

> Releasing DDraw interface...
in "myIDirectDraw::Release()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_Overrides.cpp" on line 10

> Releasing DDraw4 interface...
in "myIDirectDraw4::Release()" file: "Hooked_DDraw_Overrides.cpp" on line 18
========================================
Reinstalled on win 7 ,and it starts ok. with latest amd driver
========================================
There is a intermittent flashing bar at top of screen ,like the type u get after alt tabbing out of a game and it doesn't reset properly,is this a known probem?


Return to “Drakan: 10th Anniversary mod”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron