Drakan Community Patch

Discuss Drakan: Order of the Flame with fellow players and post any technical problems here where an 'unofficial' support team will try and help you. Gameplay help questions can go here too.

Moderators: Mechanist, Arokhs Twin, yangez93

User avatar
Mechanist
Dragon
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:27 pm
Location: Poland

Drakan Community Patch

Postby Mechanist » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:12 pm

Current version: build 135.02
Last updated: 29/06/2018

:!: Download link :!:

Features:
  • Self-installing: no more manual manipulation of the game files :D
  • Installs the original 445 patch + newest version of the AiO patch,
  • Contains all of the known good fanmade singleplayer & multiplayer Drakan maps :!:
  • Optionally installs the dgVoodoo2 DirectX wrapper, for improved display quality,
  • Includes the Drakan Level Editor,
  • Also installs some extra content - in particular, the original soundtrack and various optional mods (incl. the alternate ending patch).
How to use:
  • If updating from a previous version of the Community Patch: just start the installer :)
  • Fresh installation (recommended method): install Drakan from the game disc :arrow: run the Community Patch installer.
    No need to install the 445 patch first, as it's already included in the Community Patch.
  • Alternatively, the Community Patch can be installed over the Drakan Gold Pack - and it will work just fine, too.
--------------------

Changelog:
NOTE: Please click here to view the changelog for the AiO patch, which forms the backbone of the Community Patch.

Build 135.02:
  • Added the Drakan: Order of the Flame soundtrack to the "full installation" options (it gets installed to {INSTALLDIR}\Extras\Soundtrack),
  • Also added a Start Menu shortcut to the soundtrack location,
  • Added some files that were missing from the Level Editor (this prevented it from working when the CP was installed over a fresh copy of Drakan),
  • Added missing dependencies for the fanmade singleplayer maps,
  • Added missing Multiplayer Common databases (required for some of the included multiplayer levels to work, eg. Bloodland),
  • Added installer option to remove the known bad fanmade levels when installing the CP over the Gold Pack,
  • Changed the default controls for improved ergonomy, and to help prevent the dreaded "weapon change instead of alternate attack" annoyance (only affects first-time CP installations on top of vanilla Drakan),
  • Changed the wording of options to update the registry settings at install time, to make their functionality unambiguous,
  • Included the Auropolis MP level, which has previously been incorrectly declared as being broken; it's been added to the "novelty" list, due to its specific nature,
  • Included the "Basic MP Level" editing template (not listed in the .LFL files, as it's meant for level editor use only; it's not a playable map),
  • Included the Katana War MP level, for historical reasons; however, because of its poorly balanced gameplay, it's not listed in any of the level lists,
  • Updated the Quick Start Guide with information about running Drakan on Linux, courtesy of Discord user hemebond; also added information about the known problems, and corrected some minor errors,
  • Updated the CP Readme with new information.
Build 135.01rc0:
  • First stable release,
  • Added updated versions of 2 multiplayer maps: DQtest (aka DragonsQuest) and Wartok Canyons (Air),
  • Fixed bug that prevented successful patch installation when quotes were present in the registry uninstall entry for Drakan,
  • Improved the method used by the installer to determine whether a given folder already contains a Drakan installation (this prevents installation errors from being caused by errant copies of Drakan.exe present in unexpected locations),
  • Added some sanity checking to the installer, to prevent the installation from being unable to continue if the user has renamed or moved the Drakan installation folder after it had been installed.
Build 134:
  • First alpha build (limited release),
  • Technically largely functional, but incomplete.

UCyborg
Dragon
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 7:24 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby UCyborg » Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:29 pm

The reason I set Client_GamePort in my config to 0 is because the default behavior is just silly. 0 will make the system automatically pick free port that's available to use and it's how well coded client applications behave. Cases where picking particular client-side port is necessary are rare and very specific.

And if you don't put PlayerName setting in there, it will be filled by the game according to the user's Windows user account name. Same story with ServerName.

Some other things you've changed are more of the subjective nature, eg. music volume; rather than being objectively saner than defaults.

You also haven't updated the information regarding lens flares, they work fine without dgVoodoo. And for newer systems, apart from what I already mentioned in the other thread, it would be worth mentioning that it allows user to set the game to use dedicated graphics cards instead of the onboard one. NVIDIA Optimus laptops are good candidates for this; games that use DirectX 8 and earlier will always use onboard graphics regardless of the settings in NVIDIA Control Panel, so dgVoodoo can be used to workaround that limitation.
"Once a profound truth has been seen, it cannot be 'unseen'. There's no 'going back' to the person you were. Even if such a possibility did exist... why would you want to?" - Dave Sim

User avatar
Mechanist
Dragon
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Mechanist » Tue Jun 19, 2018 6:43 pm

The reason I set Client_GamePort in my config to 0 is because the default behavior is just silly. 0 will make the system automatically pick free port that's available to use and it's how well coded client applications behave. Cases where picking particular client-side port is necessary are rare and very specific.
OK, I'll change that back then. I admit I didn't realize the significance of the zero there.

And if you don't put PlayerName setting in there, it will be filled by the game according to the user's Windows user account name. Same story with ServerName.
All right, so it's supposed to be blank then? Can do.

Music volume, the value I've put there is what I feel that works well - the music is loud enough to be noticeable, yet not so loud as to drown out other sounds (especially what Arokh says; that can be difficult to hear from a distance, even in the best circumstances).

You also haven't updated the information regarding lens flares, they work fine without dgVoodoo.
Good catch, thanks!
I've removed the remark about LF not working from the readme - but not from the troubleshooting guide, as I forgot about it.
Admittedly, that release was a bit rushed; I focused primarily on making sure it's fully functional, so that it could be put into circulation in time for updating our servers to the AiO patch build 135.

And for newer systems, apart from what I already mentioned in the other thread, it would be worth mentioning that it allows user to set the game to use dedicated graphics cards instead of the onboard one. NVIDIA Optimus laptops are good candidates for this; games that use DirectX 8 and earlier will always use onboard graphics regardless of the settings in NVIDIA Control Panel, so dgVoodoo can be used to workaround that limitation.
Hmm, not quite sure I follow you there. Isn't there a selection list in the Riot Engine Options already? Or are you implying that it doesn't work as intended?

UCyborg
Dragon
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 7:24 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby UCyborg » Wed Jun 20, 2018 1:39 am

OK, I'll change that back then. I admit I didn't realize the significance of the zero there.

There's a strange story behind this. Drakan developers wanted to, according to patch notes, make Drakan "firewall friendly". So they used port 27910, which is the default port for Quake II servers. If by firewall friendliness, they wanted to make sure to prevent connection errors to Drakan servers...well, Quake II players had no such issues as Quake II client does pick random free port by default. It would make more sense if they made server operate on the same port as Quake II, if supposed firewall friendliness was their goal, although again, you don't just take port that is known to be used by something else. The same way we agree web servers are accessible on port 80.

So there's also EnableAlternatePortSelection setting in Drakan.cfg, which would try up to NumAlternatePortSelections ports if binding to the desired port failed, each time increasing the number in Client_GamePort by one. Quite redundant since all that's needed regarding ports can be taken care of by system.

It's relatively minor detail in the grand scheme of things, but if ports were an issue for clients like developers thought, then we'd be worrying about them for just about any program that accesses the internet.

All right, so it's supposed to be blank then? Can do.

No, you must delete the entire <set PlayerName ...> line for it to work as intended.

Hmm, not quite sure I follow you there. Isn't there a selection list in the Riot Engine Options already? Or are you implying that it doesn't work as intended?

It is, but on such systems, the game will only see integrated graphics card. It's a limitation of the underlying framework. Some say it's due to drivers, but I can't comment on that since I haven't seen any technical explanation behind the limitation.

Using dgVoodoo "upgrades" the game to use DirectX 11, which presents all cards to the game. Integrated card always works because it outputs picture on the monitor entire time, even when dedicated card is invoked for rendering, which takes some cooperation between both cards on the driver level and as said earlier, this invocation isn't supported for DIrectX 8 and older, so you get integrated card, which is always available.

AMD has similar technology called AMD Switchable Graphics.
"Once a profound truth has been seen, it cannot be 'unseen'. There's no 'going back' to the person you were. Even if such a possibility did exist... why would you want to?" - Dave Sim

Pat86
Hatchling
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Pat86 » Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:07 pm

Is it possible to add the german patch to version 445? The Community patch works fine on the vanilla german boxed version, but all text gets english (audio stays german). i guess this is due to the english patch?

User avatar
Mechanist
Dragon
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Mechanist » Tue Jun 26, 2018 6:15 pm

Hi :D

Yes, it's because the English version of patch 445 is used.
The text strings are stored in Dragon.rrc, which gets overwritten by the version from the English 445 patch.

I can add support for the German language to the Community Patch - but in order to do that, I'd need your help, since I don't have the German version of Drakan to work with.

At the very least, I need the following files from you:
  • German version of the original Patch 445 installer,
  • Dragon.rrc file from vanilla German version of Drakan (installed straight from the original disc; not after patching to 445)

Pat86
Hatchling
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Pat86 » Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:07 pm

Sure thing, here you go :D

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/0sn0pwyxtvsl ... qtW1a?dl=0

PS: The german version was cut back then. So i guess this patch will make it cut as well. So violence should be set to "2" afterwards again.

User avatar
Mechanist
Dragon
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Mechanist » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:27 am

Thanks, I'll look into it.

For now, I did a quick check:
The German version of Drakan.rrc appears to work fine with the Drakan.exe from the AiO patch - which is great, since otherwise it'd be a total disaster.

However, the existing keybindings don't work, since it now expects the German command names in Drakan.cfg, instead of the English ones.

BTW, seeing as my knowledge of German is pretty much nonexistent - what's the violence setting named?

Pat86
Hatchling
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Pat86 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:45 am

However, the existing keybindings don't work, since it now expects the German command names in Drakan.cfg, instead of the English ones.

BTW, seeing as my knowledge of German is pretty much nonexistent - what's the violence setting named?
Eww ok... any way i can help you there?

In the options menu its "Gewaltdarstellung" under "Grafik". The option is missing in vanilla. Needs patch 445 to show up. But even then it's not changeable (greyed out). Needs a modified (uncut) Dragon.rfl file. With the following Dragon.rfl file it shows up and is changable even on german vanilla.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kl7optst7uj83 ... c.zip?dl=0

User avatar
Mechanist
Dragon
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Mechanist » Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:37 pm

Eww ok... any way i can help you there?
Not really, I just need to let it autogenerate a new Drakan.cfg with the vanilla default keybindings, then I can edit it into the installer template.

Nice thing about the Riot Engine is that it simply ignores any keybindings that don't correspond to valid commands - thus allowing a multilanguage Drakan.cfg to be created :)
This is yet another of the engine's "features" that are extremely useful, yet almost certainly were never intended to be used that way by the developers :D

As for Dragon.rfl - the question is, does it get checked as part of the server/client version checking.
Since whatever I do, I need to preserve the multiplayer connectivity - and that imposes some limits on what can and can't be done.
(Dragon.rrc is almost certainly exempt from the version checking, precisely because it contains a lot of language-specific stuff)

In any case, I need to do a bunch of testing with this first.

Pat86
Hatchling
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Pat86 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:09 pm

Since with the latest Community Patch applied to a german (vanilla) version, the game becames uncut as well, maybe you don't need to change anything regarding the Dragon.rfl. Or does it contain text stuff as well? Just german text (+text on the map etc.) is missing / in english in its current state.

User avatar
Mechanist
Dragon
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Mechanist » Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:32 pm

AFAIK, all the language-specific text is contained inside Dragon.rrc; the audio is stored elsewhere, so it's not affected by patching.

with the latest Community Patch applied to a german (vanilla) version, the game becames uncut as well,
Could you please elaborate?
I tried replacing Dragon.rrc with the German version on my install, but the violence option is greyed out.

With the following Dragon.rfl file it shows up and is changable even on german vanilla.
With the AiO patch, this results only in the "Unable to load RFL" error.
In any case, replacing Dragon.rfl is a non-starter - the current Dragon.rfl contains a bunch of fixes by UCyborg; an inseparable part of the AiO patch.

To rephrase: dropping the AiO patch isn't an option; it would thoroughly defeat the purpose of all our work so far.

However, based on the information I currently have, it looks like the greying-out is ultimately caused by something inside Dragon.rrc, since changing just this 1 file locks the violence option on an English copy.

Pat86
Hatchling
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Pat86 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:01 pm

Could you please elaborate?
I tried replacing Dragon.rrc with the German version on my install, but the violence option is greyed out.

Installing the Community Patch on a freshly installed german version brings the game up to date (445), with full violence (violence option is switchable) and audio stays german. All in all the Game works flawlessy as intended. It's only the german texts (+text on map etc) that get replaced with english ones.

Here's the full german CD so you can check it yourself: https://www.dropbox.com/s/t4n4fghv5rsvi ... an.7z?dl=0
Last edited by Pat86 on Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Mechanist
Dragon
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:27 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Mechanist » Wed Jun 27, 2018 8:19 pm

Interesting, thanks. It'll take some excavating to get to the root of the issue, though.

I'll be releasing a new build of the Community Patch by this weekend, so there won't be enough time to integrate proper German language support in this release.

For a quick hacky fix, overwrite your Dragon.rrc and RERES.dll files with those ones: German 445 Dragon.rrc, German RERES.dll.

Warning: this WILL break your keybindings, making the list totally blank!
You'll need to set all the keybindings again.

Pat86
Hatchling
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: Drakan Community Patch

Postby Pat86 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:56 pm

Thanks! Works great (except Violence is greyed out - but its set to excessive). Keybindings weren't even blank. But there were total different setting including joystick inputs. Guess those were yours?


Return to “Drakan (PC) Game Discussion & Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron